TIPS FOR FLAWLESS LOOKING SKIN by Otto Man

While putting on makeup is not something that many mature men would do, here are the thoughts of one who does.  The results are really pretty good – radiant and flawless natural looking skin…A word of advice – please consult the beauty advisor at the counter you buy the products from and you may need to try it out a few times before achieving your desired outcome.

For the adventurous mature men who want to do something new.

– Editor’s note

________________________________________________________________

Recently, I have been using an app on my iPhone – the app improves the look of the subject by making him or her look fairer, thinner, even making the eyes bigger and brighter. As I am going through the process of beautifying myself on the phone, I wondered whether anything can be done to salvage the skin that I once had. I have to say that a good daily skin care routine is compulsory. But, I wanted something more dramatic yet natural-looking. I found my solution with makeup.

Okay, don’t give me that look. I don’t intend to look like a wayang1 singer on stage. What I desire is concealment. It becomes my temporary perfection for outings with friends or potential dates. Hence, I stress the word “natural-looking”.

So, I have done my research and found a quick and simple way to apply makeup suitable for everyday wear. I will focus on the words “quick and simple” as many might associate makeup with tediousness. Really, it is not. Yes, it needs to be removed at the end of the night to avoid a breakout but it is not rocket science.

These are my steps to better-looking skin:

1. Moisturizer

2. BB Cream

3. Facial Spray (water or makeup fixing water)

Moisturizer

I do not want to put makeup directly onto my bare face, so I use a moisturizer with sun protection (at least with a SPF2 30). Remember, sun protection is the most important facial product for any mature man. Prolonged sun exposure is a catalyst to aging as sun exposure causes most of the skin changes that we think of as a normal part of aging. Over time, the sun’s ultraviolet (UV) light damages the fibers in the skin called elastin. When these fibers break down, the skin begins to sag, stretch, and lose its ability to go back into place after stretching. It is also about protecting the skin against skin cancer.

Another thing to note is that body SPF lotion is different from face SPF lotion.

BB 3 Cream

They are a darling as not only do they even out your skin tone, they protect your skin. BB cream is promoted as an all-in-one facial cosmetic product to replace serum, moisturizer, primer, foundation and sunblock. It can be worn alone as a tinted moisturizer, over serum and moisturizer as a regular foundation, and under powder, depending on the desired amount of coverage.

I usually choose a shade that is suited for my skin – something that is mid-tone. I try not to go for something too light or dark. It is best for you to experiment with the different shades or the results might be disastrous. I prefer the Korean/ Japanese brands as their BB Creams are usually lighter and not too sticky. I will apply the cream onto my face and leave it on for a while as it needs time to oxidize (the process when the cream blends into your skin tone). Once that happens, I will achieve a more natural look. One tip I always use is to remember to blend. By using my fingers to apply, the heat from my fingertips helps with the oxidization process.

There are other makeup products in the market such as concealer or foundation powder/liquid but BB creams would suffice for me.

Facial Spray

I end the makeup process by spraying some water onto my face. As to what kind of spray I use, I usually go for a makeup fixing spray.  The facial spray not only brings out the radiance but also makes the look even more natural.  If I can’t find one, I will use a moisturizing mist (which is usually just water in a spray bottle).

Removing Makeup

To remove makeup, I normally use makeup removal oil before my cleansing routine. So, I would rub the oil all over my face to remove the makeup and use a cleanser to wash the oil from my face.

Alternatively, you may also try makeup removing facial wipes should you find using removal oil too troublesome.

So, here is my makeup routine. For me, I do not use makeup everyday but on special occasions when I know pictures will be taken. However, I might just try putting it on for work, just to spice up my professional outlook.

1 Wayang refers to street performances of Chinese operas which are staged with performers having thick colorful and exaggerated stage makeup on
2 Sun Protection Factor
3 Blemish Balm

____________________________________

What I desire is concealment…..

…..Hence, I stress the word “natural-looking”.

 ____________________________________

This entry was posted in Vanity Fair. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

