I LOST 2 KILOS

I lost 2 kilos.

May not seem much to you but to me it was quite a feat.  I had been trying to lose weight partly because of vanity but partly also because of my doctor’s advice.  Blood pressure going up…sugar levels high….a mature man’s chronic ordeal….you get the picture?

Gyming bulked me up but my weight kept consistently high.  Yes, I do the usual weights, thread mill and circuit training, putting in twice a week as advised by health materials I was reading and by my doctor.  But no weight loss.

Then I was introduced to the diet by my gym instructor.  It consists of a low fat yoghurt base (choose strawberry, peach or other available flavours – good to choose a flavour you like.  I like a mixture of fruits.).  Add in flaxseeds and chia seeds.  Top it with cut strawberries and/or kiwi fruits (I’ve tried both together at one go and the gorgeous colours made my mouth water) and eat together with bananas.  This was my breakfast for 5 days of the week.  I could eat my normal food for lunch and dinner on weekdays and for breakfast, lunch and dinner on weekends.

The pudding like mix was not a problem.  You see, I like yoghurt…yes even low and non-fat versions.  I also found that the seeds gave the chewy bite which I liked too.  Of course, I have always liked strawberries, kiwis and bananas although admittedly, I don’t eat fruits that often, preferring comfort foods like carbohydrates and meat.

The problem was whether it would be able to last me until lunch time when I could eat what I term ‘real’ food – I’ve had always treated yoghurt only as dessert.  To my pleasant surprise, it lasted me from 7 am until around 11.30 in the morning.  That was about the time I usually took an early lunch.  I was afraid that becoming hungry before lunch will bring on hypoglycemia from my diabetic condition which I normally experienced when I was hungry.  I really hate the symptoms of breaking out in cold sweat, having heart palpitations and trembling hands which would subside only after I quickly ate some carbohydrates or pop in a sweet.  I had tried to eat enough to last till the next meal and it has helped so no hypo attacks in recent years.  But this also explains why I was unable to lose weight even with regular exercising.

I shared this with a colleague who surprised me by saying that it was a full meal.  So I did some research.

These were my findings:

  • Flaxseeds are high in dietary fibre and rich in Omega-3
  • Chia seeds are also high in dietary fibre which actually explains why I was able to withstand not eating until late morning.  It is also higher in antioxidants and rich in Omega-3.
  • Bananas on the other hand, are good in lowering blood pressure because they are high in potassium and very low in salt (we all know what an overdose of salt does for blood pressure).  Supposedly, they lower the risk of stroke and heart problems as well.  Now why did I stop eating them…ah yes, I felt that they were going to make me fat.

Ultimately. a good test of success would be the weighing scales; the best test would be my next visit to the doctor’s.  Well, to cut the story short….weight down, blood pleasure normal, sugar level down — all’s well and under control.

I have been on this diet for more than a month and my weight has stabilized.  My next challenge is:  how long more can I keep this up?  Oh well, I’ll just wait and see.

IMG_9521

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon flaxseed

1 tablespoon chia seed

4 to 5 tablespoons low fat yoghurt (plain or other flavours)

 

Blend the above together (Blending chops up the seeds which maximizes their benefits – I don’t do this for too long because I prefer the chewy texture of the seeds to the powdery one if blended too long)

Top with 3 to 4 cut strawberries (can be replaced by 1 or 2 kiwi fruits)

Can be eaten immediately but I prefer it chilled

Eat the mix together with 2 to 3 bananas

This entry was posted in Wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

